New Rigid Pilot

All rigid wing news, questions, etc can be found here.

Moderators: ianwhitt, mark leavesley, chasleton, Randombloke, jules

New Rigid Pilot

Postby Schwabby » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:19 pm

Hi Folks,

I have just acquired a VQ and am itching to fly it.

I have been flying for over 30 years and currently fly a Litespeed, rigids however are a new concept for me.

Any advice appreciated as to what to expect on that first take off!

See you on the hills soon I hope.

Cheers! Rob.
Yay! It's flyable!
Schwabby

Re: New Rigid Pilot

Postby Randombloke » Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:03 pm

Hi Rob,

It's a great glider with better handling than the pre polyhedral Atoses.

The only issue is the lack of nose wires when needing help to take off or after landing in stronger winds.

Trim setting is critical. Advice from Steve E or Sven could be a very good idea.
SteveU
AIR Atos, Avian Amour, Gin Carrera Plus and Pegasus Quantum.
Randombloke

Postby chrisjonesbath » Fri Sep 27, 2013 3:33 pm

Schwabby wrote:Hi Folks,

Any advice appreciated as to what to expect on that first take off!
Cheers! Rob.

Rob,

Don't get frustrated by the rigging time, it will be very unfamiliar at first. Just take your time and don't force anything. Once you have done it 10 or so times it will become second nature just like rigging a flexwing.

About 3 seconds after take-off you will wonder why you waited so long to join the rigid set. Sure it may not seems to bank and crank as fast as a lightspeed but once you get dialled in you'll appreciate how damn easy it is to control and how well it goes. Just relax and consider you are not weight shifting you are just moving the bar from side to side to activate the spoilers. Old habits die hard and it will take a while to get that fixed in your brain. After 16 years on rigids I still find myself on occasion employing flex wing turning techniques.

Other than getting your approach sorted out earlier and don't make any low slow turns, that's about it.